A Muscial Note: The Guess Who – These Eyes

In 1968, a Canadian Rock group, The Guess Who, released one of the biggest hits of their career.

These Eyes feature the writing of Randy Bachman and the voice of Burton Cummings.  This was a re-release in the album Wheatfield Soul.  The original had another Canadian talent, Gordon Lightfoot as a back up singer.  These Eyes was the first single by The Guess Who to make it to the Top Ten in the U.S. 

A big fan of all but one song from this group—I’ll let those who know their discography work that out—the album Wheatfield Soul, in my opinion, was their best.

I hope you agree that These Eyes is one amazing song.

Listen with me…

About Richard W Scott

Novelist, Blogger, Blogging Consultant, President: Fremont Area Writers (CWC-FremontAreaWriters.org)
This entry was posted in Lyrical Moments, Quote, Somebody Asked Me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Muscial Note: The Guess Who – These Eyes

  1. Loreen Lee says:

    These Eyes
    The Guess Who
    Written by Randy Bachman and Burton Cummings

    - peaked at #6 in 1969

    These eyes cry every night for you
    These arms long to hold you again

    The hurtin’s on me, yeah
    And I will never be free, no, my baby, no no
    You gave a promise to me, yeah
    An’ you broke it, an’ you broke it, oh no

    These eyes watched you bring my world to an end
    This heart could not accept and pretend

    The hurtin’s on me, yeah
    And I will never be free, no, no, no
    You took the vow with me, yeah
    An’ you spoke it, an’ you spoke it, babe

    These eyes are cryin’
    These eyes have seen a lot of loves
    But they’re never gonna see another one like I had with you

    These eyes are cryin’
    These eyes have seen a lot of loves
    But they’re never gonna see another one like I had with you

    These eyes are cryin’
    These eyes have seen a lot of loves
    But they’re never gonna see another one like I had with you

    These eyes cry every night for you
    These arms, these arms long to hold you, hold you again

    These eyes are cryin’
    These eyes have seen a lot of loves
    But their never gonna see another one like I had with you

    These eyes are cryin’
    These eyes have seen a lot of loves
    But their never gonna see another one like I had with you

    These eyes are cryin’
    These eyes have seen a lot of loves
    But their never gonna see another one like I had with you

    These eyes are cryin’
    These eyes have seen a lot of loves
    But their never gonna see another one like I had with you
    Baby, baby, baby, baby
    Don’t ya know these eyes are cryin’ every night
    I need you back in my heart

  2. Loreen Lee says:

    Thank you again Rik Scott. I have just said good night to my friend, who brought over rum and coke and yes bison burgers, to celebrate my daughter’s birthday. Wonderful time, as we have had our moment of ‘contestation’, but as we develop more and more into ‘individuals’ who can speak our ‘own’ mind, I find that we have more and more to share. And that with the song. Yes, it takes an developed individuality to speak from the heart, and not to simply be mouthing words and ideas that one has heard others speaks. Thus my appreciation of Emerson, and yes the lyrics of this song. I have indeed made the ‘best’ choices joining you on this website, rather than pursuing ‘philosophy in the abstract’. Yes the philosophy is its own ‘truth’, but as the postmoderns are saying it has to be put into life. Thus my book. I am so grateful that I have something to work for. And my friend, this afternoon, acknowledged that she understood where exactly I was at. A lot of work ahead. But it will be smooth sailing, because among other things, I have these wonderful posts of yours, and thank you again for recognizing the ‘talents’ of another Canadian group. I was terribly influenced back in the sixties by a group called the ‘Perth County Conspiracy’, of which i doubt you have ever heard. Which proves that not all talent finds the recognition it deserves. Again, thank you.

    • Loreen Lee says:

      P.S. I, in reading back what I just wrong, can understand if you perceive that I am a little ‘high’. grin grin.

  3. Loreen Lee says:

    wrote; note wrong. but then it’s been about half a dozen rum and cokes!!!!! and a bison burger!

  4. deepercolors says:

    I can give you a few lyrics about crying, which is all love seem s to give you in the end. Song is too depressing. Turning off now.

Leave a Reply

